08/10/2012 2:02PM

Fort Erie: Wilson follows riding instructions perfectly in Summers Memorial Cup

Michael Burns
Striking Miss wins the Mike Anderson Memorial Cup.

FORT ERIE, Ontario – Two excellent Cup races highlighted last week’s racing at Fort Erie.

On Monday, in the Bob Summers Memorial Cup, jockey Bradley Wilson gave Mia’s Miracle a heady ride behind some very hot fractions set by Jeffrey Armin and was up to take command in the final furlong.

The fractions, 21.40 and 43.80 seconds, led to a final time of 1:09.40 for six furlongs.

Following the race, Wilson explained the instructions trainer Nathan Squires gave him: “Nathan told me to sit off the pace, stay inside and be patient as he knew that Jeffrey Armin, considered by many to be the fastest horse at the track, would lay down some quick fractions. It worked out exactly as he had predicted, and once the furlong pole arrived we took charge and stayed there to the wire.”

Mia’s Miracle paid $21.80. Jeffrey Armin ran on gamely for the place and Big Brother Joe finished a solid third.

On Tuesday evening, Striking Miss led the field home under Martin Ramirez to win the Mike Anderson Memorial Cup in going-away fashion.

The John Simms-trained runner stalked the pace, had the lead at the eighth pole, and then drew off with authority. Striking Miss, the tepid favorite, paid $7.60.

Simms, commenting on the problems that Striking Miss had encountered since last winter, was gratified that his patience had resulted in a successful score.

“She had multiple problems after we took her to Tampa for winter racing,” Simms said, “and then after our return to Fort Erie, just when we thought we were back on track, another problem occurred.”

To be eligible for a Cup race, a runner has to have started at Fort Erie at least twice during the season, and it was not until mid-July that Striking Miss met that requirement.

Raghunath leads trainer standings

Ravendra Raghunath has taken over the lead in the trainer standings with a record of 16-16-16 from 93 starts.

Gary Chudobiak (14 wins), Shawn Rideout (12), Ross Armata (11), and Nick Gonzalez (11) round out the top five conditioners. Martin Drexler is the top percentage trainer with 10 wins from 25 starters.

A tight race continues in the jockey standings with Kirk Johnson, the leader with 41 wins, holding a two-win edge over Terry Husbands.

Martin Ramirez (32), Juan Crawford (24), and Bradley Wilson (22) round out the top five.

Big Brother Stable holds a clear lead in the owner standings, having won 12 races out of 23 starts.