04/01/2017 7:00AM

Five O One answers the call in Rainbow Stakes

Coady Photography/Oaklawn Park
Five O One and jockey Ricardo Santana Jr. win the Rainbow Stakes by five lengths on Friday.

HOT SPRINGS, Ark.- Five O One remained undefeated in two starts when he ran down J.E.’s Handmedown and darted clear in the $100,000 Rainbow Stakes on Friday at Oaklawn. He won by five lengths over that rival, while it was another 7 1/2 lengths back in third to Jack Be Quick.

The Rainbow was a six-furlong race restricted to 3-year-olds bred in Arkansas. It complemented the annual awards banquet of the Arkansas Thoroughbred Breeders’ and Horsemen’s Association, to be held Friday night in Hot Springs.

Five O One ($3) was the favorite off a sharp debut win on Feb. 3 at Oaklawn. He settled off a trio of dueling leaders in the Rainbow, as Checkmate Charlie, Quietly Cuba, and All To Stormy raced through an opening quarter in 21.58 seconds. J.E.’s Handmedown took over through a half-mile in 45.55, but Five O One ran him down past the eighth pole and went on to cover the distance on a fast track in 1:11.36.

“He brought it home,” owner Staton Flurry said of Five O One. “It’s just huge for me to finally get a stakes win at Oaklawn.”  

:: Enjoy news and analysis from DRF? Get handicapping analysis, real-time coverage, special reports, and charts. Unlock access with DRF Plus.

Flurry said he grew up about a half-mile from the track, and as a child would bounce on his trampoline to “see horses come around the turn.”

Ricardo Santana Jr. rode Five O One for trainer Brad Cox. The horse earned $60,000 for the win, one start after capturing a maiden special weight for Arkansas-breds that had a purse of $72,000. A son of son of Drosselmeyer, Five O One has now earned $103,200.

Five O One, who is named for the area code that serves Oaklawn, was bred by Bill McDowell and K.K. Jayaraman. McDowell was to be honored as the Arkansas breeder of the year for 2016 at the Friday night banquet. 

Weast Hill, trained by Cox, was to be honored as the Arkansas horse of the year for 2016.