03/25/2013 6:37PM

Finalists announced for Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award


The three finalists for the seventh annual Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award were announced on Monday, narrowing the field down from a group of seven semi-finalists.

The winner of the 2012 Book Award will be announced on April 10 at Castleton Lyons in Lexington, Ky., during a cocktail reception held in a room above the farm’s stallion barn. First prize is $10,000, with $1,000 awarded to each runner-up. In addition, all three finalists will receive a Tipperary Crystal trophy.

Originally known as the Castleton Lyons Book Award, the name was changed to honor its founder, who died in 2007. Dr. Ryan’s son and Castleton Lyons president Shane Ryan continues to present the award annually.

Following are the finalists for the 2012 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award:

Flying Change: A Year of Racing and Family and Steeplechasing
Author: Patrick Smithwick
Publisher: Chesapeake Book Company

The Garrett Gomez Story: A Jockey’s Journey Through Addiction and Salvation
Author: Rudolph Valier Alvarado, with Garrett Keith Gomez
Publisher: Caballo Press of Ann Arbor

Kentucky Derby Dreams: The Making of Thoroughbred Champions
Author: Susan Nusser
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

Semi-finalists, chosen in mid-March, also included My Year of the Racehorse, by Kevin Chong; When Racing Was Racing, by Adam Powley; The Kentucky Derby, by James Nicholson; and Racing From Death, by Sasscer Hill.

The 2012 judging team is comprised of lead judge and Washington Post editor Kay Coyte; HRTV producer and on-air host Caton Bredar; and attorney Milton C. Toby, winner of the 2011 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award for Dancer’s Image—The Forgotten Story of the 1968 Kentucky Derby.