05/21/2008 11:00PM

Familiar cast in Harrison


The three previous winners of the William Henry Harrison Stakes will be present in the gate Saturday at Indiana Downs for the sixth running of the event, which has a field of 10 older Indiana-sired horses. The $50,000 Harrison, at six furlongs, is slated as the fifth race on an 11-race card that also includes three Quarter Horse races.

Liepers Fork is the defending champion and also captured this race in 2004. Indy Energy won the inaugural running in 2003 and returned to take the race again in 2006. He made a run at the leaders through the turn in last year's edition but faded back to seventh, beaten just 4 1/2 lengths. Honor Pursuit won the 2005 edition of the Harrison.

Liepers Fork is the probable favorite for trainer Donald Goeing. He comes into the race off a fourth against top-level open allowance company here April 29 and should appreciate the return to Indiana-sired company while in search of his 10th win. A 7-year-old by Ago, Liepers Fork also took the A.J. Foyt Stakes at a route of ground here last summer.

Indy Energy, a 9-year-old by Presidential Order, will be making his 96th start but is winless in his five starts this year. Trained by Scott Nicks, Indy Energy drew off to a four-length lead against $6,250 company in his first local start this year but was caught nearing the wire to finish second, beaten a half-length. An earner of more than $260,000 from his mark of 21-16-13, Indy Energy still has the turn of early foot to make him a threat from the start.

Antonio Duran will send out the coupled entry of Love This Trick and Ribit for owner Rancho Monarca LLC. Ribit was second in his first local start this year against second-level allowance company and appears the stronger half of the entry.