08/27/2003 12:00AM

Fairmount track report


COLLINSVILLE, Ill. - Lanny Brooks was elected president of the local Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association last week, taking 70 percent of the vote to defeat Delmar Stortzum, Bob Lawrence, and Dawn Haught. Jim Watkins, who succeeded Louis O'Brien as president when he resigned in 2001, did not run.

Brooks, 56, has been active in the industry as an owner, breeder, and trainer for nearly 20 years. Brooks has a bachelor's degree in business from the University of Missouri-St. Louis, and in the past few years has been active in lobbying the state Legislature concerning issues affecting horsemen.

Watkins moved back to the owners' side of the board of directors, where Ken Loeffel, Ron Rujawitz, and Stortzum retained their seats. Tom Carley was the only new owner elected. Ed Essenpreis, Tom Trione Jr., and Lawrence join John Wainwright, and Jerry Hammond on the trainers' side.