04/28/2008 11:00PM

Etc. . . .


Monsoor ($39.80), ridden by Anibal Prado, outfinished Indy Joe by three-quarters of length to win Tuesday's $75,000 Philmont Stakes at Philadelphia Park. Trained by Alfredo Velazquez, Monsoor ran the seven furlongs on a fast track in 1:24.57. . . . Jockey Russell Baze, who had 399 victories from 1,211 mounts in 2007, a winning rate of 32.9 percent, on Thursday was named winner of the Isaac Murphy Award for the 12th time. The prize is awarded by the National Turf Writers Association annually to the North American jockey with the highest winning percentage. . . . Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear has appointed five members to the Kentucky Horse Racing Authority, with terms expiring in either 2011 or 2010. They are Alan J. Leavitt, owner of Walnut Hill Farm, to replace Kenneth Jackson; Edward S. "Ned" Bonnie, a retired attorney, to fill a vacancy; Foster Northrop, a private-practice veterinarian, to replace Larry Telle; Elizabeth Lavin, secretary and treasurer of Longfield Farm, to replace Thomas B. Gaines; and Robert M. Beck, an attorney, who will serve as chairman and replace Bill Street, who has resigned. . . . Orlando Mojica rode five winners on the nine-race Indiana Downs card Monday.