01/05/2006 12:00AM

Eclipse Awards finalists announced


The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF) today announced the finalists for the 2005 Eclipse Awards, voted on and presented by the three organizations in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing. Winners in all categories will be announced at the 35th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held Monday, January 23 at the Regent Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, Calif.

The Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Two-Year-Old Male: First Samurai, Henny Hughes, Stevie Wonderboy

Two-Year-Old Female: Adieu, Folklore, Wild Fit

Three-Year-Old Male: Afleet Alex, Flower Alley, Giacomo

Three-Year-Old Female: Round Pond, Smuggler, Summerly

Older Male: Borrego, Rock Hard Ten, Saint Liam

Older Female: Ashado, Pleasant Home, Stellar Jayne

Sprinter: Lost in the Fog, Saratoga County, Silver Train

Male Turf Horse: Artie Schiller, Leroidesanimaux (BRZ), Shirocco (GER)

Female Turf Horse: Cesario (JPN), Intercontinental (GB), Megahertz (GB)

Steeplechase: Hirapour (IRE), McDynamo, Sur La Tete

Owner: Michael Gill, Live Oak Plantation, Melnyk Racing Stables, Inc.

Breeder: Adena Springs, Edward P. Evans, Live Oak Stud

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Robert Frankel, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Jerry Bailey, Edgar Prado, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey: Channing Hill, Justin Stein, Emma-Jayne Wilson