05/19/2011 3:26PM

DRF Preakness History


For as long as there has been Triple Crown racing, the Daily Racing Form has been around to cover it. Here's a couple of our front pages commemorating some of the most memorable Preakness and Triple Crown champions, starting with Sir Barton in 1919 and War Admiral in 1937. See below for more Preakness historical front pages.


May 14, 1919

May 15, 1937

More Preakness front pages:

May 14, 1919: Sir Barton's Preakness

May 11, 1935: Omaha easily triumphs in Preakness

May 15, 1937: War Admiral adds Preakness to his triumphs

May 10, 1941: Whirlaway romps to easy victory in 51st Preakness

May 8, 1943: Count Fleet wins Preakness

May 11, 1946: Assault captures Preakness by neck

May 15, 1948: Citation romps in Preakness

May 19, 1973: Secretariat adds Preakness

May 21, 1977: Seattle Slew wins Preakness

May 20, 1978: Affirmed takes Preakness

May 9, 1930: Preakness to Gallant Fox

Preakness Archive