03/21/2002 12:00AM

Day's action to include pick three, late double

Email

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates - There is no wagering in Dubai, but bettors in the North America will have sufficient opportunity to bet on the $6 million Dubai World Cup and three other World Cup races on Saturday. Officials from Arlington International are coordinating simulcasts and wagering for the last four races on the World Cup program. Each race will include an exacta, trifecta, and superfecta.

According to Dan Leary, an Arlington spokesman, all four races will be offered to wagering venues around the country. Leary expects more than 400 sites to take the Dubai races. It will be up to individual outlets to decide which races to take.

Races that will be offered are the $2 million Dubai Sheema Classic, at 1 1/2 miles on turf; the $2 million Golden Shaheen at six furlongs; the $2 million Dubai Duty Free at "about" 1 1/8 miles on turf; and the $6 million Dubai World Cup. Dubai time is 12 hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time and nine hours ahead of Eastern.

There will be no betting offered on three earlier races on the card: a race for Arabians, the Godolphin Mile, and the UAE Derby. The World Cup goes at 9:40 p.m. in Dubai (9:40 a.m. Pacific, 12:40 p.m. Eastern).

In addition to standard wagers, Leary said, a pick three on the last three races, and a daily double on the last two, will be offered.