04/22/2008 11:00PM

Curlin named top Kentucky-bred of 2007


The Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders named Curlin the Kentucky-bred Horse of the Year Wednesday as it honored Bluegrass-bred champions at Keeneland.

Curlin, North America's 2007 Horse of the Year and champion 3-year-old, also picked up the Kentucky-bred 3-year-old championship for 2007 at the awards luncheon. Highlighting Curlin's 2007 racing season were his victories in the Preakness, Breeders' Cup Classic, and Jockey Club Gold Cup. He was bred by Fares Farm.

The group also named Better Than Honour, dam of 2006 and 2007 Belmont Stakes winners Jazil and Rags to Riches, Broodmare of the Year.

The other Kentucky-bred champions for 2007 are juvenile male War Pass, bred by Cherry Valley Farm; juvenile filly Indian Blessing, bred by Hal and Patti Earnhardt; 3-year-old filly Rags to Riches, bred by Skara Glen Stables; older male Lawyer Ron, bred by the late James T. Hines Jr.; older female Hystericalady, bred by Abbott Properties; turf male English Channel, bred by Keene Ridge Farm; turf female Precious Kitten, bred by Ken and Sarah Ramsey; sprinter Midnight Lute, bred by Macon Wilmil Equines, Marjac Farm, and Tom Evans; and Kentucky-bred abroad Peeping Fawn, bred by Barnett Enterprises.

Receiving the award as top Kentucky-bred steeplechaser was McDynamo, bred by the partnership of Nathan Fox, Richard Fox, and Richard Kaster.

Also honored was Robert and Janice McNair's Stonerside Stable, which received the P.A.B. Widener Trophy as top breeder. Stonerside bred 16 stakes winners in 2007 and was represented by four horses on the Experimental Free Handicap.

William O'Neill took home the Hardboot Breeder Award for successful small breeder of 2007, and commentator Randy Moss received the Charles W. Engelhard Award for media.

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund Awards also were presented to leading sire Storm Cat; leading breeder Overbrook Farm; leading owners Ken and Sarah Ramsey; leading earner save Big Money; and leading trainer Steve Asmussen.