06/17/2013 6:28PM

CTHS honors Ontario’s leading breeders, stallions

Michael Burns
Uncaptured, Sovereign Award winner as Canada's Horse of the Year in 2012, helped his owner John Oxley and breeder William Graham receive honors in their respective categories from the Canadian Thoroughbred Horse Society's Ontario Division.

The Canadian Thoroughbred Horse Society’s Ontario Division honored its champion owners, breeders and sires of 2012 on Friday at Copper Creek Golf Club in Kleinberg, Ontario.

CTHS Ontario recognized William D. Graham as Ontario’s 2012 Breeder of the Year, following up Graham’s Sovereign Award as Canada’s outstanding breeder for the same year. His runners were highlighted by Uncaptured, Canada’s Horse of the Year in 2012, as well as Joyful Victory, a Grade 2 winner last year; Grade 3 winner River Seven, and stakes winners Star Contender and Bosco.

Audre and Gordon Cappuccitti were unanimously selected to receive the Blood-Horse Mint Julep Cup for a lifetime of contribution to the Thoroughbred industry. Audre Cappuccitti, an owner, trainer, and breeder, died in November at age 75. Among the most successful horses the husband and wife bred or campaigned were Sovereign Award winners Deputy Inxs and Essence Hit Man.

Four stallions received awards based on their 2012 earnings of eligible progeny, with first place going to Old Forester, who was led by stakes winners Jenna’s Wabbit and Honorable Guest. Second place went to Niigon, whose top foals of 2012 included Grade 3 winner Heathcote and multiple stakes winner Nipissing, while Bold Executive earned third place honors, led by stakes winners Nikkis Bold Gelato and Smart N Sexy.

Sligo Bay received the award as leading first-crop Ontario sire. The 15-year-old son of Sadler’s Wells previously stood at Adena Springs South near Williston, Fla., but was relocated to Gardiner Farms near Caledon East, Ont. in 2009, and was eventually moved to Adena Springs Canada in Aurora, Ont. His first crop of 2-year-olds as an Ontario sire raced in 2012, making him eligible for the award.

Awards of Merit were given to honor Glenn Sikura, owner of Hill ‘n’ Dale Canada, and Dennis Mills, founder of racing industry advocacy group Racing Future, Inc. for their contribution to Ontario’s racing program over the past year.

John C. Oxley was named Ontario’s leading owner of 2012, also doubling up on his Sovereign Award victory for the same year. In addition to Horse of the Year Uncaptured, Oxley also campaigned Canada’s champion 2-year-old filly Spring in the Air.