05/22/2013 3:59PM

CTHS to honor achievements at annual awards dinner


The Canadian Thoroughbred Horse Society’s Ontario Division will honor the outstanding Ontario-bred winners of 2012 at its 31st annual awards dinner Friday, June 14 at Copper Creek Golf Club in Kleinberg, Ontario.

This year’s event will honor William D. Graham as Breeder of the Year. His top runners included Uncaptured, winner of the 2012 Sovereign Award as Canada’s Horse of the Year and champion 2-year-old male. Graham also bred Grade 3 winner River Seven and stakes winners Bosco, Star Contender, and Joyful Victory, the latter of whom broke through with a Grade 1 win in the Santa Margarita this spring and has earned over $1 million for her career.

Gord and the late Audre Cappuccitti were unanimously selected to receive the Blood-Horse Mint Julep Cup for a lifetime of contribution and dedication to the Thoroughbred industry.

The event will also celebrate the successes of over 40 breeders with a total of 58 black-type winners. Included in this group will be Ontario’s leading 2012 first-crop sire Sligo Bay, as well as the province’s top three general sires: Old Forester, Niigon, and Bold Executive.

Tickets for this event are $75 (Canadian currency) each, plus applicable fees, and are available through the CTHS office by calling 416-675-3602. All proceeds from the night, including a silent auction, will benefit the LongRun Thoroughbred Retirement Society.