06/10/2003 11:00PM

Chavez an all-star via online poll


GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas - Jorge Chavez beat out 11 other riders in an online poll of fans last week to earn the final berth into the National Thoroughbred Racing Association All-Star Jockey Championship on June 20. The four-race competition will be held at Lone Star Park.

Chavez won 16 percent of the vote, edging Kent Desormeaux's 12 percent. Chavez will join a field of 12 jockeys that includes Jose Santos, who won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness this year with Funny Cide; Robby Albarado, Russell Baze, Ryan Fogelsonger, Eddie Martin Jr., Edgar Prado, Shane Sellers, Mike Smith, Alex Solis, Pat Valenzuela, and John Velazquez.

The Jockey Championship, which is co-sponsored by Daily Racing Form, serves as a fund-raiser for the Disabled Jockeys' Endowment.