Updated on 04/27/2013 9:35AM

Calvin Borel leads 2013 Hall of Fame inductees

Justin N. Lane
Calvin Borel, shown after his second Kentucky Derby victory aboard Mine That Bird, was the only human inductee in the Hall of Fame class of 2013.

Calvin Borel parlayed three wins in the Kentucky Derby into an even higher honor on Friday when he, along with the horses Housebuster, Invasor, and Lure, were announced as this year’s inductees into the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame.

In addition, the steeplechase horses McDynamo and Tuscalee were chosen by the steeplechase committee, which meets every four years.

Borel, Housebuster, Invasor, and Lure received the most votes from eligible voters, with 179 of 182 returning ballots. Those four beat out jockeys Chris Antley, Garrett Gomez, Craig Perret, and Alex Solis, trainer Gary Jones, and the two-time Eclipse Award-winning filly Ashado.

Under the Hall of Fame’s current rules, the four individuals who receive the most votes from among the final 10 on the ballot are that year’s inductees.

Borel, 46, has won 5,012 races, but it is his wizardry at Churchill Downs on the first Saturday in May that propelled him into the Hall of Fame. He won the Derby in 2007 with Street Sense, 2009 with Mine That Bird, and 2010 with Super Saver, becoming the only jockey to win the Derby three times in four years.

Borel is scheduled to go for a fourth Derby next Saturday aboard Revolutionary. Only Eddie Arcaro and Bill Hartack with five, and Bill Shoemaker with four, have won more Derbies than Borel. He won the Kentucky Oaks in 2009 with Rachel Alexandra, who went on to win the Preakness and be named that year’s Horse of the Year.

Housebuster was a brilliant sprinter who won 15 times in 22 starts, including the Carter, Vosburgh, Forego, King’s Bishop, and De Francis Dash. He was named the Eclipse Award-winning sprinter in both 1990 and 1991. Housebuster was owned by Bob Levy and trained by the late Jimmy Croll, who is in the Hall of Fame himself. Housesbuster died at stud in 2005.

Invasor was an international globetrotter who won 11 of 12 starts, including the Breeders’ Cup Classic in 2006, the year he was named Horse of the Year. The following year, Invasor won the Dubai World Cup. And prior to arriving in the United States, he swept the Triple Crown in Uruguay. All told, Invasor won nine Grade 1 or Group 1 races.

Invasor departed Uruguay after being purchased privately by the Shadwell Stable of Sheikh Hamdan al Maktoum, who turned Invasor over to trainer Kiaran McLaughlin. Invasor currently stands at stud at Shadwell in Kentucky.

Lure won 14 of 25 starts, including consecutive runnings of the Breeders’ Cup Mile in 1992 and 1993, all for Hall of Fame trainer Shug McGaughey. Though best known for his success on turf, on which he won three Grade 1 races, Lure also was a graded stakes winner on dirt. Lure was bred and owned by the Hancock family’s Claiborne Farm. He is living out his life as a pensioner at Claiborne after being retired from stud duty in 2003.

McDynamo was one of the most accomplished steeplechase runners of recent years, with three divisional Eclipse Awards in 2003, 2005, and 2006. His greatest achievement was winning five consecutive editions of the Breeders’ Cup Grand National from 2003-2007, the final one at age 10, becoming the oldest horse to win that race. McDynamo won 17 of 34 starts, and retired as the all-time leader among steeplechase horses with $1,310,104 in earnings. Sanna Hendriks trained McDynamo for owner Michael Moran.

Tuscalee won 39 of 89 starts while racing from 1963 to 1972, with a record 37 of those wins coming in steeplechase races, including four editions of the National Hunt Cup, the last at age 12 in 1972. In an era before the Eclipse Awards were inaugurated, Tuscalee was voted champion steeplechase horse of 1966 by the Thoroughbred Racing Association. He was bred and owned by Alfred Smith Sr. and trained by Joe Aitcheson Sr.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremonies are scheduled for Aug. 9 in Saratoga Springs, N.Y., where the Hall of Fame is located.

2013 Racing Hall of Fame Inductees

Calvin Borel
Born: November 7, 1966
◗ Wins: 5,012
◗ Earnings: $120,871,340
◗ Won Kentucky Derby three times: Street Sense (2007), Mine That Bird (2009), Super Saver (2010)
◗ Only jockey to win Kentucky Derby three times in four years
◗ Won Preakness and Kentucky Oaks with Rachel Alexandra in 2009, that year’s Horse of the Year

dk. b/br. h, 1987, Mt. Livermore-Big Dreams, by Great Above
Owner: Robert P. Levy
Trainer: Warren A. “Jimmy” Croll

◗ Record: 22-15-3-1
◗ Earnings: $1,229,696
◗ Champion sprinter 1990, 1991
◗ Won three Grade 1 races and 11 graded races in all
Died in 2005

b. h. 2002, Candy Stripes-Quendom (Arg), by Interprete (Arg)
Owner: Shadwell Stable (Sheikh Hamdan al Maktoum)
Trainer: Kiaran McLaughlin

◗ Record: 12-11-0-0
◗ Earnings: $7,804,070
◗ Horse of the Year and champion older horse, 2006
◗ Won 2006 Breeders’ Cup Classic, defeating 3-year-old champion Bernardini
◗ Won 2007 Dubai World Cup
◗ Won four other Grade 1 races in North America
◗ Swept Uruguayan Triple Crown in 2005
Stands at Shadwell Stud in Kentucky

B. h. 1989, Danzig-Endear, by Alydar
Owner: Claiborne Farm
Trainer: Claude “Shug” McGaughey III

◗ Record: 25-14-8-0
◗ Earnings: $2,515,289
◗ Won Breeders’ Cup Mile in 1992 and 1993
◗ Won three Grade 1 races and 10 graded races in all
◗ Recorded Beyer Speed Figures of 100 or better in 18 of his 25 starts
Pensioned at Claiborne Farm

B. g., 1997, Dynaformer-Rondonia, by Monteverdi (Ire)
Owner: Michael J. Moran
Trainer: Sanna Hendriks

◗ Record: 34-17-6-1
◗ Earnings: $1,354,994
◗ Champion steeplechaser in 2003, 2005, and 2006
◗ All-time leading steeplechase money-earner
◗ Won five straight Breeders’ Cup Grand Nationals (2003-07), the last at age 10

B. g. 1960, Tuscany-Verna Lee, by British Buddy
Owner: Alfred Smith Sr.
Trainer: Joe Aitcheson Sr.

◗ Record: 89-39-14-10
◗ Earnings: $130,917
◗ Won National Hunt Cup four times, the last at age 12
◗ Voted champion steeplechaser in 1966 by Thoroughbred Racing Associations