03/22/2015 6:23PM

Callback's DQ gives Sunland Oaks win to stablemate Maybellene

Email
Coady Photography
Maybellene (left), with Victor Espinoza aboard, finishes a neck behind 1-5 favorite Callback, ridden by Martin Garcia, but was promoted to first by the stewards following an inquiry into the stretch run.

SUNLAND PARK, N.M. – Trainer Bob Baffert won the $200,000 Sunland Park Oaks on Sunday for the fifth straight time, and seventh overall, but described his victory with Maybellene, via disqualification of his other filly, favored Callback, as “just an awkward, awkward situation.”

 Callback, the odds-on favorite, appeared headed to victory in the 1 1/16-mile race for 3-year-old fillies when she suddenly veered to her left when crossing the tracks left by the starting gate, causing Fancy and Flashy, who was beginning to tire, to take up sharply. Callback held off Maybellene by a neck, but Fancy and Flashy dropped back to fourth, losing third to Scat Means Go.

 The stewards lit the inquiry sign as soon as the race was over, and disqualified Callback for interference, giving Maybellene ($9.80) her first stakes win.

 “I wish it hadn’t happened. She’s never done that before,” Baffert said by phone from California, where he watched the race.

 Maybellene is owned by Baffert’s wife, Jill.

 “They both ran really good races,” Baffert said. “I’ve seen a lot of things, but I’ve never seen that.”

 Victor Espinoza rode Maybellene, who has now won 3 of10 starts. Callback was ridden by Martin Garcia, who was hitting Callback left-handed when she jumped to the left, so he could hardly be held accountable for his filly’s sudden, strange behavior.

 Callback did cross the wire first, so the final time of 1:42.90 belongs to her.

 The Sunland Park Oaks offered 85 points overall, and 50 to the winner, toward the May 1 Kentucky Oaks. Maybellene now has enough to get in. The disqualification of Callback could prove problematic for her. Even though she won the Grade 1 Las Virgenes Stakes at Santa Anita in January, that race was worth just 10 points, so there’s the very real chance she could end up on the outside looking in unless she tries to shoehorn in another prep.

 

slewof damascus More than 1 year ago
I did want to say that Callback is a dead game filly. Anywhere she shows up around one-turn and I'm there.
slewof damascus More than 1 year ago
Callback had never been past a mile and only raced a mile once on a speed favoring track. Well, this track had some depth to it on this day, and you weren't going to skip around there aided by a speed-favoring track. Callback doesn't want any part of that distance and in no way is she suited for an Oaks try, but I won't complain if they run her. Maybellene was the rightful winner, because she can cover the distance without veering in and causing legitimate interference, unlike Callback. Taking Callback down was a no-brainer. I feel for the bridge jumpers who bet her to show. That's an awful way to lose, although I dare say she was probably not the right horse to plunk down that kind of dough for a 5% return. See my previous comment on her distance questions. Even Baffert's runners occasionally have to succumb to the vagaries of the race track.
tommy More than 1 year ago
Call back is good at a mile and she thrived at 1 1/16 !! Callback was the rightful winner!! She clearly won!!! I hope she can run in the oaks to make me money!! Top 13 will run in the oaks!!!! I was surprised maybellene got 2nd because she is slower thN a donkey!!
Sammy Monarchos More than 1 year ago
O000ps. Identified wrong rider in my previous post. Too much minor league beer perhaps.Tearing up Pick 4 tickets as I posted. Rant on E.P. warranted but not for that race. Reclaimed-Kicked Out-of New York-Find the luckiest State ((For-13 strikes-And-Your-Not-Out-Of-Racing NEW MEXICO )) Norberto ArroyJr. deserves the Oscar for Mabellene's upgrade by D.Q. When A-Fraud is done in pinstripes he's headed here to become a steward ! I'm having another beer today. Hello from the crafty well groomed ovals down near Pleasantville. The turns are tight...and judgement is handed down with a stern giggle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Callback was close enough to warrant Arroya to do the right thing and steady his horse to make sure they didn't clip heels. The arse end of Callback was just under the nose/head of Fancy and Flashy as she swerved hard to the left. Even though Fancy and Flashy was not going to win the action of Callback caused Fancy and Flashy at least 1 placing when she had to steady and lose action. Pretty clear cut. Lets put it this way. If they didn't DQ Callback everyone would be calling for the judges heads because they didn't DQ a Baffert horse again. When they DQ'd Callback the other side of the coin rears it's head and now people call for the judges heads because Baffert and wife were the recipient of DQ by purse money. The judges did the right thing.
tommy More than 1 year ago
Call back didn't not bump any horse , so therefore , there should be no DQ !!! How can you DQ a horse whose in front by a full 1 1/2 length and then decides to stay in front of other horse?? Also you are allowed to cut off another horse and boxed in another horse as long as you don't bump!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tommy, please wake up, You are not allowed to cut off other horses. If not for the jockey on the 3 he might have clipped heals with him. the jockey on the 3 pulled his horse up to avoid that. Please stop, you are an embarrassment. You are coming across as a person who is not all there. You might be saying immature illogical stuff on purpose just to tick someone off. They are called trolls. I couldn't care less. You are worth the laugh.
CraigACantrell More than 1 year ago
Tommy you are spot on...you shouldn't be allowed to DQ a horse that is over a 1 1/2 lengths in front...the horse on the lead went 109 and had been hit right and left handed and was toiling when this alleged incident took place...what a disgrace to the betting public again by the shameful so called stewards:(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
watch the clip frame by frame. Callback moves over to the path of Fancy and Flashy. At that point the nose/head of Fancy and Flashy and the rear end of callback are close enough to touch and more importantly clip heels. If Callback was 1 1/2 lengths in front when she moved over there would not even have been an inquiry. You need to stop start frame by frame.
georget More than 1 year ago
From the pan-shot I did not see an infraction. I saw Martn Garcia pass a tired, slowing horse and clear, before his horse ducked.Yes, from the head-on it's debatable and the track-feed hammered that head-on without running the pan which I think was a little more definitive. I watched the shadows on the head-on and still saw clearance for Martin. No way that tired horse was improving her position or finish. I had no money on the race. Don't care who trained or owned so I think I'm completely not biased. I even thought Martin Garcia should have been disqualified in the last Breeders Cup Classic.
Randy Baker More than 1 year ago
No bump is necessary.If you impede a horse who takes up and cost them a better position you should come down.Fancy and Flashy wasnt going to beat Callback at that point.The problem is the foul may have cost Fancy and Flashy 3rd.Thats enough to make a DQ of Callback to 4th
Vince Piscitelli More than 1 year ago
I know for a fact that 2/3 judges had heavy wagers on Oh Maybelline. THAT is the ONLY reason Callback came down. I was actually sitting in the booth to the left of the stewards and watched them scan their tickets before making the change. Vince P
Mark Oleary More than 1 year ago
Just watched the replay and WOW, what an acting job is right!. That filly was already well beaten and floundering and Callback was already clear. HORRIBLE CALL! Bush league stewards at a bush league track, and boy did they get a bonus when the DQ moved Callback out of the show slot, thus saving the tracks te minus show pool.This was an egresious act of theft. Don't know if any bridge jumpers got hit, but if I was one of them , I would be inconsolable.
Joe Eckert More than 1 year ago
mark,if you saw the head on you would have seen why she was taken down.
stockmann9914 . More than 1 year ago
Acting job? Callback isn"t that good of a horse, deserved DQ.
CraigACantrell More than 1 year ago
You are spot on Mark...these other people are clueless...the horse was clear when she darted over...sad DQ
Richard Holmes More than 1 year ago
I agree with you 100%. She came in badly but she was totally clear. The jock on the other horse totally overreacted.
Vince Lentini More than 1 year ago
Any one who actually watched it realizes that the DQ was a must...it makes no difference who trained who.
Richard Holmes More than 1 year ago
She came in badly but she was totally clear. I know the other jock took up badly but he didn't need to. He was either acting or he simply overreacted. He didn't need to take up. He wasn't going to clip heels. He was nowhere near that horse.
Sammy Monarchos More than 1 year ago
OKAY. # 3 is dead. Fractions ridiculous. DEAD TIRED DONE before the eighth pole. Classy Baffert filly (easily clear) as she skips to her left. Classy filly recovers and holds off stablemate. Acting Oscar to E.P. Gomez aboard the # 3 should include videos of his recent rides that (dropped a fellow riders horse resulting in knee surgery for Larry Gamez) and nearly dropped another top T.B. rider in the stretch for a wreckless--foolish move on a cheaper horse in a recent route race. At the "minor leagues" this almost gets you employee -of -the-month honors. I guess its all minor when you're featured on TVG and the shiney buttons on your shirt become medals of stupidity. I will die in the minor leagues. Watching silly calls and drinking another beer.
Mary Sivak More than 1 year ago
That's how a cheap track gets out of losing money on a minus show pool
Vince Lentini More than 1 year ago
absurd statement..first it wasnt a minus pool and second the horse CLEARLY should come down
Roc Ingersall More than 1 year ago
Owners that race against their trainer get bent over more often than not.
Walter More than 1 year ago
Baffert's wife's horse got put up on the DQ, so the entire winner's share of the purse goes to the Baffert household. Yeah, I'm sure it was really "awkward".