02/23/2009 12:00AM

California owners honor Zenyatta, Mosses


Zenyatta, the champion older female of last year, and her owners, Jerry and Ann Moss, are among the winners of annual awards presented by the Thoroughbred Owners of California.

The Kentucky-bred Zenyatta was voted horse of the year, an award for a horse based in California but not necessarily a California-bred. Her win in the Breeders' Cup Ladies' Classic was cited as the moment of the year in California racing.

The Mosses were honored as owners of the year. In addition to Zenyatta, the Mosses campaigned Madeo, the Del Mar Derby winner, and Tiago, who won the Oaklawn Handicap. Those three horses are trained by John Shirreffs. The Mosses also won seven stakes races, tying them for most won in California last year with the late Harry Aleo, whose stakes winners included Wild Promises.

Trainer Jerry Hollendorfer and George Todara won the most races in the state, 117.

Ken Kinakin, who owns Dancing in Silks, was named rookie owner of the year. His horses won 3 of 11 starts and $186,988.

Madeline Auerbach, an owner and breeder who also has spearheaded the California Retirement Management Account, was named the winner of the Ed Friendly Industry Service Award. Carma retrains retired racehorses to help them pursue other equine activities.

Auerbach, Kinakin, and the Mosses will be presented with their awards March 14 at Santa Anita. Hollendorfer, Todaro, and Aleo will be honored at Golden Gate Fields on March 21.