01/16/2015 12:48PM

California Chrome’s Derby win voted NTRA 'Moment of the Year'

Barbara D. Livingston
California Chrome's Kentucky Derby win is voted the 2014 NTRA Moment of the Year.

Respondents to an online poll conducted by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association overwhelmingly tabbed California Chrome’s Kentucky Derby win last year as the “Moment of the Year,” according to a release from the NTRA.

Of the approximate 2,000 voters, 30.5 percent chose the Derby as the “Moment of the Year,” outpolling Wise Dan’s win in the Bernard Baruch at Saratoga in the two-time Horse of the Year’s first start after emergency colic surgery, which received 20.1 percent of the vote. The NTRA allowed voting on 10 specific moments.

California Chrome, who is being pointed to the San Antonio Handicap at Santa Anita on Feb. 7, was one of the most popular horses to compete in the Triple Crown in a decade. He won the 2014 Derby as the 5-2 favorite, extending his winning streak to five races.

In third place was Tom Durkin’s final race call and emotional farewell ceremony in the Saratoga winner’s circle on Aug. 31. The nominee received 17.5 percent of the vote.

The NTRA has conducted voting for “Moment of the Year” since 1999.