Updated on 10/28/2013 6:49PM

Breeders' Cup Sprint: Private Zone draws lucky 7

Barbara D. Livingston
Private Zone trains over the Santa Anita track. The Vosburgh winner will be one of the favorites in the Breeders' Cup Sprint.

ARCADIA, Ca. -- It was easy to tell who some of the winners were at Monday’s post position draw for the Breeders’ Cup Sprint. The pulling of the pills put smiles on the faces of Doug O’Neill and Martin Pedroza, the jockey and trainer of Private Zone, and trainer David Fawkes, who’ll send out Bahamian Squall.

The six-furlong dash drew a field of 12 including defending champion Trinniberg.

Private Zone, a game winner of the Vosburgh, will break from post 7 as the likely favorite in the $1.5 million Sprint, a race which tragically lost the horse many experts felt was the one to beat, Points Offthebench, who broke down while completing a routine workout Saturday at Santa Anita. Bahamian Squall, who like Private Zone won an automatic berth into the Sprint as a result of his victory in Calder’s Smile Sprint Handicap, will being from post six.

[BREEDERS’ CUP 2013: Fields with DRF odds and comments]

Laugh Track was somewhat of a surprise entry, trainer Mark Casse opting for the Sprint rather than the Dirt Mile, which was his first preference when pre-entries were announced last week.  Laugh Track drew post 12. Justin Phillip and The Lumber Guy, two of five returnees in the field from last year’s Sprint, will break from the rail and post 2, respectively. Trinniberg will attempt to defend his title from post position 11.

“I love the post and seeing Martin’s reaction. He’s pumped up,” said O’Neill. “It’s a great post, a lucky number, and most important the horse is doing sensationally.”

Breeders’ Cup Sprint

Purse: $1.5 million; 6 furlongs; Grade 1

PP, Horse, Jockey, morning-line odds

1. Justin Phillip (J. Velazquez), 4-1

2. The Lumber Guy (M. Luzzi), 12-1

3. Gentlemen’s Bet (J. Castellano), 8-1

4. Majestic Stride (E. Maldonado), 20-1

5. Sum of the Parts (L. Goncalves), 12-1

6. Bahamian Squall (L. Saez), 10-1

7. Private Zone (M. Pedroza), 3-1

8. Fast Bullet (J. Rosario), 6-1

9. Secret Circle (M. Garcia), 4-1

10. Wine Police (E. Gomez), 30-1

11. Trinniberg (R. Maragh), 8-1

12. Laugh Track (M. Smith), 20-1

Post time: Saturday, 7:01 p.m. Eastern