01/13/2011 11:36AM

Breeders' Cup Classic voted 'NTRA 2010 Moment of the Year'

Reed Palmer Photography/Churchill Downs
The Breeders' Cup Classic, where Blame narrowly beat Zenyatta, was voted the Moment of the Year.

Voters at the website of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association tabbed the victory by Blame in the 2010 Breeders’ Cup Classic as the “2010 NTRA Moment of the Year,” the association announced on Thursday.

BREEDERS' CUP CLASSIC: Watch replay >>

The victory by Blame over fellow Horse of the Year candidate Zenyatta was selected by 36 percent of the respondents among 11 other races, according to the NTRA. Zenyatta had won all 19 of her previous starts prior to the narrow defeat.

Zenyatta’s win in the Vanity Handicap at Hollywood Park earlier in 2010 in which the mare posted her 17th straight victory was in second place, with 33 percent of the vote, while Goldikova’s third straight win in the Breeders’ Cup Mile was selected by 19 percent of the voters. No other race garnered more than 2 percent of the remaining votes.

Blame’s connections will be honored for the selection at the Jan. 17 Eclipse Award ceremony in Miami.

ECLIPSE AWARDS: Profiles of every finalist >>