Updated on 09/17/2011 11:23AM

Bluesthestandard takes Texas Mile

Lone Star Park
Bluesthestandard picks up his fifth straight win with authority Saturday in the$300,000 Texas Mile at Lone Star Park.

GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas - Bluesthestandard, who a year ago was racing for a claiming price of $10,000, picked up his fifth straight win with authority Saturday in the Grade 3, $300,000 at Lone Star Park.

He finished four lengths in front of second-place finisher Bonapaw, who changed his running style and rallied from off the pace. It was another neck back in third to Compendium.

Bluesthestandard($5), who was the favorite, broke sharp from post No. 9, and settled about a length behind Compendium, who was left alone on the lead through fractions of 23.93 seconds for the opening quarter and 47.09 seconds for the half-mile mark. Bluesthestandard took command of the race in the stretch, and went on to cover the distance in 1:35.68.

"I picked up those reins turning for home, and it was all over," said Martin Pedroza, who rode Bluesthestandard.

The Texas Mile was the second straight stakes win for Bluesthestandard, who last month won the Grade 2 Portrero Grande Breeders' Cup at Santa Anita over a field that included champion Kona Gold.

"Every single race with this horse impresses me and surprises me," said Ted H. West, who claimed Bluesthestandard for $50,000 on behalf of owner Jeffrey Sengara in December. "I knew he'd run good today, but I didn't know he'd have a performance like this."

Bluesthestandard's win streak dates back to Dec. 31, when he won a $50,000 claiming race at Santa Anita and was claimed by West. He went on to win two optional claimers from there, then the Portrero Grande on March 29.

For his win in the Texas Mile, Bluesthestandard earned $170,000. His record now stands at 14 wins from 21 starts and earnings of $490,410.

* In the fourth race, refunds on all wagers except the pick three involving No. 14, Tis A Star, were refunded after the horse was left behind the starting gate. He was declared a non-starter. Pick three players received the post-time favorite, Bad Bad Rocket, who won the maiden race for statebreds.