06/08/2011 2:45PM

Belmont Stakes: No Lukas, Zito, or Baffert this year


For the first time since 1993, the Belmont Stakes will be run without a horse from the barn of trainers Bob Baffert, D. Wayne Lukas, or Nick Zito.

That trio of Hall of Fame trainers has combined to win seven of the 17 Belmonts run since 1994, with Lukas winning four, Zito two, and Baffert one.

BELMONT STAKES: Contender profiles, Watchmaker's odds »

Of the 12 trainers with horses entered in this year’s Belmont, only Pletcher has previously won the race. Six of the 12 trainers – Doodnauth Shivmangal, Kathy Ritvo, Kelly Breen, Eddie Kenneally, Ignacio Correas IV, and O’Brien – will be making their Belmont debuts.