06/27/2013 9:30PM

Arqana Deauville August yearling sale catalog now online

Email

The catalog for the Arqana Deauville August yearling sale in Deauville, France is now available online, featuring a total of 376 horses.

The three-day sale will consist of two parts, each consisting of 188 yearlings. The first part will be held Aug. 17-18, beginning at 5 p.m. Central European Summer Time (11 a.m. Eastern), and the second will commence Aug. 19 at 1 p.m. CEST (7 a.m. Eastern).

A separate Arqana sale, the inaugural v.2 Yearling Sale will be held on Aug. 20, featuring a book of 123 horses selected for their precocious type. However, the catalog for that auction is not yet available.

“This year, the catalog has been reduced to 376 yearlings from 471 in 2012, which means that the selection was even more demanding,” Arqana President Eric Hoyeau said. “Buyers shall certainly enjoy reading it, and I bet they won’t be disappointed when they discover the horses in the flesh, comes August. I have no doubt that the champions of tomorrow will be found in this catalogue, as were the many 3-year-olds who fly the flag for Deauville this year.”

Last year’s Deauville August yearling sale held fairly consistent with the 2011 edition, with 290 yearlings sold for revenues of $35,078,900, down 10 percent from the previous year. The average price of $120,962 was up two percent, while the median held steady at $80,176.

The sale topper at last year’s August sale was a Sea the Stars colt, who sold to Mandore International for $1,479,740. He was the first foal out of Group 1-winning Linamix mare Alpine Rose, and he is from the family of Group 1 winners Fragrant Mix and Allow, Group 2 winner English Spring, and Group 3 winners Fracassant and Spring Oak.

To view the Arquana Deauville August yearling sale catalog online, click here