06/21/2016 9:14AM

American Horse Council gives Rolapp Award to Jay Hickey


Jay Hickey, the outgoing president of the American Horse Council, has been presented with the AHC’s highest honor, the Rolapp Award, which is typically given to a legislator, the organization announced on Tuesday.

Hickey, who will retire on June 30 after 23 years at the helm of the AHC, was presented with the award at a reception on June 14 with legislators, the AHC said. The organization’s board of trustees had earlier voted to select Hickey for the honor.

“Jay Hickey has been a true champion of the horse industry and is most deserving of this prestigious honor,” said Jerry Black, the chairman of the AHC’s board of trustees. “He closely observed every issue that could have had an impact on the American Horse Council’s members and provided everyone with astute guidance for the past 23 years.”

Last year, the Rolapp Award, which is named for Rich Rolapp, the president of the AHC from 1974 to 1993, was presented to Rep. John Yarmuth, a Kentucky legislator. Previous award winners have included Sen. Mitch McConnell and Sen. Jim Bunning.

The AHC represents the equine industry in Washington D.C. on all manner of issues related to horses, from taxes to health regulations.

Julie Broadway, the executive director of the American Morgan Horse Association and Educational-Charitable Trust since 2007, has been named to succeed Hickey as president of the AHC.