Updated on 09/15/2011 12:37PM

$7.2 million in stakes at Gulfstream's 90-day meet

Email

MIAMI - Gulfstream Park, in Hallandale Beach, will present the richest stakes schedule in Florida history, a program worth more than $7.2 million, during its expanded 2002 meeting. The 2002 meet will run 90 days, from Jan. 3 through April 24. Before the deregulation of racing dates in the state, the Gulfstream winter session had traditionally consisted of 63 cards and ended on March 16.

As a result of the expanded racing schedule, the 2002 Gulfstream stakes program will offer 50 stakes, 21 more than in 2001, several of which have found a new place on the calendar. Among the relocated stakes is the Grade 1, $1 million Florida Derby, which has been pushed back one week, to March 16. In addition, the Grade 1 Gulfstream Park Handicap for older horses will now be on March 30, one month later than usual, with the purse increased to $300,000, up $100,000 from 2001.

Because of the expanded schedule, Gulfstream has also added an extra Kentucky Derby prep for 3-year-olds to its program, the $250,000 Aventura Stakes at 1 1/16 miles, on April 6. The race will be run on the same weekend as last year's Flamingo Stakes at Hialeah, which is unlikely to race next year.

Among the other key stakes next winter will be the Grade 1, $500,000 Donn Handicap on Feb. 9 and the $250,000 Bonnie Miss Stakes for 3-year-old fillies. The Bonnie Miss will be run on March 15, and along with the Florida Derby will form the nucleus of the newly created "Florida Derby Festival," a weekend that will feature numerous promotions.

"What we are basically trying to do is stretch the season a few weeks longer by extending the traditional Gulfstream Park stakes schedule to give horsemen the incentive to stay beyond the usual March 16 closing date" said Scott Savin, Gulfstream's general manager.

"That's why we pushed our two biggest turf stakes [the Pan American and Orchid handicaps] to [the weekend of] March 23 and the Gulfstream Park Handicap to March 30, and added another Kentucky Derby prep."

Savin also pointed out that all the stakes races previously carded on Wednesdays have been moved to Fridays in 2002 to create three-day weekends.

GULFSTREAM PARK

2002 STAKES SCHEDULE

TOTAL STAKES DISTRIBUTION $7,285,000*

RACING DATES - JANUARY 3 THROUGH APRIL 24

Thursday, January 3 -- $100,000-guaranteed Spectacular Bid Stakes (Grade 3), three-year-olds, six furlongs.

Friday, January 4 -- $100,000-guaranteed Honey Fox Handicap, (Grade 3), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-sixteenth, turf.

Saturday, January 5 -- $150,000-guaranteed Appleton Handicap (Grade 2), three-year-olds and up, one mile, turf.

Sunday, January 6 -- $100,000-guaranteed Old Hat Stakes, three-year-old fillies, six furlongs.

Friday, January 11 -- $65,000-added Escena, fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and one- sixteenth.

Saturday, January 12 -- $100,000-guaranteed Skip Away Handicap (Grade 3), three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-sixteenth.

Sunday, January 13 -- $100,000-guaranteed Mr. Prospector Handicap (Grade 3), three-year-olds and up, six furlongs.

Monday, January 14 - $65,000-added Dave Feldman, three-year-olds, one mile and one-sixteenth, turf.

Friday, January 18 -- $100,000-guaranteed The First Lady Handicap (Grade 3), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, six furlongs.

Saturday, January 19 -- $100,000-guaranteed Holy Bull Stakes (Grade 3), three-year-olds, one mile and one-sixteenth.

Sunday, January 20 - $100,000-guaranteed Mac Diarmida (Grade 3), three-year-olds and up, one mile and three-eighths, turf.

Friday, January 25 - $100,000-guaranteed De La Rose Handicap (Grade 3), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-sixteenth, turf.

Saturday, January 26 -- $100,000-guaranteed Ft. Lauderdale Handicap (Grade 3), three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-sixteenth, turf.

Sunday, January 27 -- $100,000-guaranteed Forward Gal Stakes (Grade 3), fillies, three-year-olds, seven furlongs.

Saturday, February 2 -- $150,000-guaranteed Hutcheson Stakes (Grade 2), three-year-olds, seven furlongs.

Sunday, February 3 -- $100,000-guaranteed Herecomesthebride Stakes (Grade 3), fillies, three-year-olds, one mile and one-sixteenth, turf.

Friday, February 8 -- $100,000-guaranteed Sabin Handicap (Grade 3), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-sixteenth.

Saturday, February 9 -- $500,000-guaranteed Donn Handicap (Grade 1), three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-eighth.

Sunday, February 10 -- $100,000-guaranteed Deputy Minister Handicap (Grade 3), three-year-olds and up, six and one-half furlongs.

Friday, February 15 -- $100,000-guaranteed Shirley Jones Handicap (Grade 3), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, seven furlongs.

Saturday, February 16 -- $200,000-guaranteed** Gulfstream Park Breeders' Cup Handicap (Grade 1), three-year-olds and up, one mile and three-eighths, turf.

Saturday, February 16 -- $200,000-guaranteed Fountain of Youth Stakes (Grade 1), three-year-olds, one mile and one-sixteenth.

Sunday, February 17 -- $100,000-guaranteed The Very One Handicap (Grade 3), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and three-eighths, turf.

Monday, February 18 -- $65,000-added Dame Mysterieuse Handicap, three-year-old fillies, five furlongs.

Friday, February 22 -- $100,000-guaranteed Palm Beach Stakes (Grade 3), three-year-olds, one mile and one-eighth, turf.

Saturday, February 23 -- $150,000-guaranteed Canadian Turf Handicap (Grade 3), three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-sixteenth, turf.

Sunday, February 24 -- $100,000-guaranteed Davona Dale Stakes (Grade 2), fillies, three-year-olds, one mile and one-sixteenth.

Friday, March 1 -- $65,000-added Gaily Gaily, fillies, three-year-olds, one mile and one-eighth, turf.

Saturday, March 2 -- $200,000-guaranteed Rampart Handicap (Grade 2), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-eighth.

Sunday, March 3 -- $100,000-guaranteed Suwannee River Handicap (Grade 3), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-eighth, turf.

Saturday, March 9 -- $200,000-guaranteed*** Gulfstream Park Breeders' Cup Sprint Championship (Grade 2), three-year-olds and up, seven furlongs.

Sunday, March 10 -- $100,000 Creme Fraiche Handicap (Grade 3), three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-sixteenth.

Friday, March 15 -- $250,000-guaranteed Bonnie Miss Stakes (Grade 2), fillies, three-year-olds, one mile and one-eighth.

Saturday, March 16 -- $1,000,000-guaranteed Florida Derby (Grade 1), three-year-olds, one mile and one-eighth.

Saturday, March 16 -- $150,000-guaranteed Swale Stakes (Grade 3), three-year-olds, seven furlongs.

Saturday, March 16 -- $100,000-guaranteed Equalize Stakes, Florida-breds, three-year-olds and up, one mile, turf.

Saturday, March 16 -- $100,000-guaranteed One Dreamer Stakes, Florida-bred fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile, turf.

Sunday, March 17 -- $100,000-guaranteed Hurricane Bertie, three-year-olds and up, fillies and mares, six and one-half furlongs.

Saturday, March 23 -- $200,000-guaranteed Pan American Handicap (Grade 2), three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-half, turf.

Sunday, March 24 -- $200,000-guaranteed Orchid Handicap (Grade 2), fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-half, turf.

Saturday, March 30 -- $300,000-guaranteed Gulfstream Park Handicap (Grade 1), three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-quarter.

Sunday, March 31 - $75,000-guaranteed Caltech Handicap, three-year-olds, one mile and one-eighth, turf.

Friday, April 5 -- $75,000-guaranteed Banshee Breeze, fillies and mares, three-year-olds and up, one mile and one-sixteenth.

Saturday, April 6 -- $250,000-guaranteed Aventura Stakes, three-year-olds, one mile and one-sixteenth.

Saturday, April 6 -- $100,000-guaranteed Artax Handicap, three-year-olds and up, seven furlongs.

Sunday, April 7 -- $75,000-guaranteed Via Borghese, three-year-old fillies, one mile and one-eighth, turf.

Saturday, April 13 -- $75,000-guaranteed Yankee Affair, three-year-olds and up, five furlongs, turf.

Sunday, April 14 -- $75,000-guaranteed Marshua's River, three-year-olds and up, fillies and mares, five furlongs, turf.

Saturday, April 20 -- $75,000-guaranteed Hallandale Beach, three-year-olds, seven furlongs.

Sunday, April 21 -- $75,000-guaranteed Christmas Past, three-year-old fillies, one mile and one-sixteenth.

*$7,285,000 IS A FLORIDA STAKES RECORD.

PREVIOUS FLORIDA STAKES RECORD ($5,300,000) WAS SET IN 2001.

TOTAL BREEDERS' CUP FUNDING: $200,000

**BREEDERS' CUP FUND $100,000 GULFSTREAM PARK BREEDERS' CUP HANDICAP (GRADE 1)

***BREEDERS' CUP FUND $100,000 GULFSTREAM PARK BREEDERS' CUP SPRINT CHAMPIONSHIP (GRADE 2)

7/01