08/06/2004 11:00PM

2004 Induction Ceremony


Trainer Shug McGaughey and jockey Kent Desormeaux are among the three persons and three horses who will be inducted into the National Museum of Racing's Hall of Fame on Monday morning in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

The ceremonies begin at 10:30 a.m. in the Humphrey S. Finney sales pavilion, a few blocks north of the racetrack. Admission is free, but seating is limited, so fans are advised to arrive early.

In addition to McGaughey and Desormeaux, this year's honorees are the racehorses Skip Away, Flawlessly, and Bowl of Flowers, and the jockey Jimmy Winkfield. Bowl of Flowers and Winkfield were chosen by a historical review committee. The other four inductees were chosen by the approximately 150 Hall of Fame voters.

D. Wayne Lukas, a Hall of Fame trainer, is the keynote speaker.