03/01/2002 12:00AM

$109,746 Carryover at Santa Anita


ARCADIA, Calif. - High Society pulled an upset in her U.S. debut in Friday's $113,150 La Habra Stakes at Santa Anita, triggering a pick six carryover of $109,746 for Saturday's important Santa Anita Handicap program.

Only one favorite won during the pick six, which covered the third through eighth races. The winners were Qui's Rush In ($9.20), Musaranho ($19.60), Nick of Time ($8.40), Spend Spend Spend ($40.60), High Society ($21.60) and Timely Runner ($10.20).

Qui's Rush In and Timely Runner finished second, but were promoted to first following the disqualification of Calzada Kid (third race) and Song Minister (eighth race).

Saturday's pick six features a guaranteed pool of $1 million, a promotion that the track planned before the carryover. The pick six covers the sixth through 11th races. In the sixth race, Central Lobby is scratched, allowing Broadway Moon to draw in from the also-eligible field. Power and Panache will be ridden by Isaias Enriquez.

There are no changes in the seventh through ninth races.

In the tenth races, Dr. Pingo and Winning Fever are scratched, allowing Come Back Ronnie and Marlwood to draw in from the also-eligible list. Marlwood will be ridden by Patrick Valenzuela.

There are no changes in the 11th race. First post time is noon.

High Society ($21.60) rallied on the outside under jockey Brice Blanc to win the hillside turf race by a length over Fun House. Ayzal finished third in the field of 11 3-year-old fillies.

Carinae, the even-money favorite, had every chance once the field crossed onto the main track but failed to threaten.

High Society finished about 6 1-2 furlongs on turf in 1:12.96. Owned by Liberty Road Stable and San Gabriel Investment, she was making her debut for trainer Laura de Seroux.

In Ireland last year, she won 2 of 5 starts, including the Rochestown Stakes against males over a straightaway six furlongs at Leonpardstown. She later finished third to Johannesburg in the Anglesey Stakes, but was no factor in the Group 1 Phoenix Stakes or Group 1 Moyglare Stud Stakes.