03/27/2011 4:42PM

Gulfstream: Native restless over non-calls

Email

The natives in the grandstand are grumbling for the second time this afternoon over the inaction of the stewards in a couple of incidents on today's card.

In the fifth race, the judges declined to disqualify El Kingdom even though he lugged in under right hand pressure forcing Convocation to take up sharply near midstretch. Convocation, the 1-2 favorite, was in trouble for much of the trip while lacking room along the rail but appeared to have gotten his head up inside the winner when suddenly having his path taken away at a crucial stage down the stretch.

In the eighth race, the stewards should have but did not declare Omi's Vindication a non-starter even though it clearly appeared she was in the hands of the assistant starter after rearing up slightly just before the gates opened.  There is little doubt the speedy Omi's Vindication did not receive a fair start and her failure to break changed the complexion of the five furlong turf dash with Rosa Salvaje suddenly allowed to control all the pace en route to a wire to wire win.