11/01/2014 9:06PM

Fornatale: Bayern gives Traynor win in Breeders' Cup Betting Challenge


Chaos reigned at the Breeders’ Cup Betting Challenge after the controversial ending to the Breeders’ Cup Classic. Bayern’s victory gave Robert Traynor the win with a score of $71,000. Traynor reportedly had a $10,000 win bet on Bayern. In addition to the money he won, Traynor takes home $230,000 in prize money for a total haul of more than $300,000 at the BCBC.

Paul Weizer, in front going into the Classic, ended up with $54,770, good for an additional $130,000 in prize money. Weizer, a mild-mannered school teacher from Massachsusetts, is a fixture on the tournament scene whose previous wins include the Wynn Handicapping Challenge.

John Conte, well known as the 2009 National Handicap Championship winner and from the cast of the “Horseplayers” television show, won $80,000 for his third-place finish. His final bankroll was $44,958.50. Conte and his playing partner, Hal Wafer, an NHC Players’ Committee member, went all in on the Breeders’ Cup Mile on Karakontie.

Conte’s “Horseplayers” castmate, Daily Racing Form handicapper Matt Bernier, playing for the benefit of the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance, finished sixth with $38,154 plus $35,000 in prize money. Bernier’s big winners were Texas Red in the Juvenile and Work All Week in the Sprint.

Television personality Kenny Mayne ran ninth with a final bankroll of $31,833.60, good for an extra $20,000.

Curtis Meyer, who at one point was in first, with his wife, Ming Meyer, in second, secured an NHC spot by finishing 15th with $27,083.10 in bankroll and $10,000 in prize money.

Because Bernier, as a DRF employee, is ineligible for the NHC, the other players in the top 16 all will advance to the NHC. Here’s a list of the top 16:

No., Player, Bankroll, Additional Prize Money
1  Robert Traynor $71,000.00    $230,000.00
2  Paul Weizer $54,770.00    $130,000.00
3  John Conte $44,958.50    $80,000.00
4  Nicholas Tammaro $44,674.80    $60,000.00
5  Bob Graham $39,071.90    $45,000.00
6  Matt Bernier $38,154.00   $35,000.00
7  Gordon D'Angelo $33,126.10    $30,000.00
8  Ed Briggs $31,950.50    $25,000.00
9  Kenny Mayne $31,833.60    $20,000.00
10  Anthony Acierno $31,211.00    $15,000.00
11  Jose Raphael $29,769.00    $14,000.00
12  Mark Myrick $29,415.00    $13,000.00
13  Jeff Komins $29,260.00    $12,000.00
14  Harry Fry $28,297.00    $11,000.00
15  Curtis Meyer $27,083.10    $10,000.00
16  Todd Urbina $25,300.50    NHC Spot

:: Click here to purchase a copy of “The Winning Contest Player” by Peter Thomas Fornatale

The BCBC is the world’s premier live-bankroll betting contest. Many players qualify for the BCBC through live events or via BCQualify.com, but they can also buy in for $10,000. Over the two days of the Breeders’ Cup, players must make a minimum of 10 bets on the Breeders’ Cup races and undercard. Available bets include win, place, show, exacta, and trifecta.