01/18/2011 1:37AM

Eclipse Awards Voting, By The Numbers


MIAMI BEACH -- Here is the percentage of first-place votes received by the winners of the 17 Eclipse Awards presented here Monday evening. In an unusually lopsided year, more than half half of the winners received at least 89 percent of the votes, with six of those nine getting at least 97 percent:

As expected, the only really close races were for Horse of the Year and three of the five awards honoring humans rather than horses. All 11 of the divisional winners got at least 71 percent of the vote (10 of them getting 83 percent or more.) Only two of the 17 winners received less than 50 percent of the first place votes, in the owner and breeder categories.

Zenyatta's 128-102 victory over Blame for Horse of the Year (with five votes going to Goldikova) gave her 54.47 percent of the votes cast. A year ago, Rachel Alexandra received a similar majority (a 130-99 tally), getting 56.77 percent of the vote.

Last year, Rachel Alexandra and Zenyatta were the only unanimous selections in their divisions. This year, Blame was the only unanimous winner because there was one vote cast for Goldikova over Zenyatta as older female, one for No Such Word over Blind Luck for 3-year-old filly, two votes cast against Uncle Mo for 2-year-old and three against Awesome Feather as 2-year-old filly.

The complete first-place tallies appear below. The order of finish in some cases does not match the three "finalists" in each category because while winners are determined solely by first-place votes, second- and third-place votes are used to determine the two other finalists. For example, Bob Baffert received only one first-place vote for the trainer award, while six other trainers received more, but Baffert was a finalist because he was the second or third choice of so many voters.

Horse of the Year: Zenyatta, 128; Blame,102; Goldikova (IRE), 5; Voter Abstention, 1; No Vote, 2.

Two-Year-Old Male: Uncle Mo, 236; Boys at Tosconova, 1; Pluck, 1. 

Two-Year-Old Filly : Awesome Feather, 235; Turbulent Descent, 2, More Than Real, 1.

Three-Year-Old Male: Lookin At Lucky, 224; Eskendereya 5; Drosselmeyer, 3; Afleet Express, 1; Discreetly Mine, 1; Paddy O’Prado, 1; Super Saver, 1; Smiling Tiger, 1; Twirling Candy, 1.

Three-Year-Old Filly: Blind Luck, 237; No Such Word, 1.

Older Male: Blame, 238.

Older Female: Zenyatta, 237; Goldivoka (IRE), 1.

Female Sprinter: Dubai Majesty, 232; Franny Freud, 3; Rightly So, 2; Serious Attitude, 1.

Male Sprinter: Big Drama, 170; Majesticperfection, 61; Discreetly Mine, 4;  Bribon (FR), 1;Chamberlain Bridge, 1; Smiling Tiger, 1. 

Male Turf Horse: Gio Ponti, 199; Dangerous Midge, 22; Champ Pegasus, 6; Winchester, 6; Paddy O’Prado, 5.

Female Turf Horse: Goldikova (IRE), 212; Proviso (GB), 15; Tuscan Evening (IRE), 11.

Steeplechase Horse: Slip Away, 175; Arcadius, 25; Percussionist (IRE), 6; Sermon of Love, 4; Voter Abstentions, 28.

Outstanding Owner: WinStar Farm, 100; Mr. and Mrs. Jerome S. Moss, 81; Claiborne Farm and Adele Dilschneider 16; Midwest Thoroughbreds 15; Juddmonte Farms, 5; Zayat Stables, 5; Repole Stable 3; Edward P. Evans, 2;  Augustin Stable 1;   Melnyk Racing Stables 1; Maggi Moss, 1; Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, 1; Wertheimer and Frere, 1; Voter Abstentions, 6. 

Outstanding Breeder: Adena Springs, 69; Claiborne Farm and Adele Dilschneider 55; Brereton C. Jones, 43; WinStar Farm 26; Edward P. Evans, 12; Maverick Productions, 10; Juddmonte Farms, 7; Gulf Coast Farms 3; Ocala Stud, 2; Eugene Melnyk, 1; Pamela and Martin Wygod, 1; Voter Abstentions, 9.

Outstanding Trainer: Todd Pletcher,168; John Shirreffs, 28; Jerry Hollendorfer, 17; Steve Asmussen, 8; Albert Stall, Jr., 5; W. Brett Calhoun, 4; Bob Baffert, 1; Freddy Head, 1; Juan Carlos Guerrero, 1; Kiaran McLaughlin, 1, Bill Mott, 1 ;  Voter Abstentions, 2; No Vote, 1.

Outstanding Jockey: Ramon Dominguez, 124; Garrett Gomez, 60, John Velazquez, 32; Mike Smith, 13; Deshawn Parker, 3; Joel Rosario, 2; Kent Desormeaux, 1; Russell Baze, 1. No Vote, 1; Voter Abstention, 1.

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey: Omar Moreno, 197; Forest Boyce, 6; Freddy Lenclud, 4; Angel Serpa, 4; Luis Saez, 3; Tyler Kaplan 1; Marcelino Pedroza, Jr., 1; Voter Abstentions, 20; No Vote, 2.